Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:37 a.m. - 2007-10-05
In which I relive the details of Barbie's birthday
Good Morning, My Pretties�

I hope everyone is feeling a little more lively than I am this morning. The Diet Coke is starting to circulate in my veins, but I still would not call myself fully functioning. But, as always, I only have myself to blame.

Yesterday was our day to celebrate the wonder that is Barbie. Her birthday was technically on Wednesday, but due to missing Toosties and severe sleep deprivation on my part, we waited until yesterday to give her the full treatment.

The birthday lunch was good � pizza and salad � if sparsely attended. My engineers are PMSing this week. Who knows why? My favorite wacky Bosnian did launch into a long tirade about how while another engineer was gone he would be selling himself for $2 for sex. He did admit that that might be too much and would be negotiable to $1.50. Then we had cake.

Later in the day, Barbie and I decided we needed some pampering so we headed out for mani/pedis. My nails were shredded after the first of the month massacre (lots of key rings). Plus, the foot and calf massage is much needed after Bhangra hopping for several days. It was most relaxing, even if there was a fight between a client and one of the techs. Basically, one would think that you can not blame the tech for the client choosing the wrong color. She was not the one who made Lincoln Park After Dark or Lincoln Park at Midnight. Fortunately, it ended without a single nail file being thrown.

Now that we were relaxed, we wanted to continue the party. We gathered Tootsie and went over to the skank water bar. Its main draw is that it is close since pretty much every other bar in the area is either run by my tenants and make me fear for the sanctity of my beer, closed due to death of the owner, or actually gone upscale. They have recently installed brand new HD tvs in the skank water bar which is kind of nice.

The three of us met up with the Weenie and another of our entourage, The Short Stop. Neither of them worked yesterday, so I was pleased that they agreed to join us. Much rowdiness ensued, though I can not think of any good non-sequitors from the Weenie.

Finally, the Cub game came on. All started out well but it because ugly about half way through. Even the Short Stop gave up, though he was handy for information on the cute new Cubbies. Mmmm�Theriot. Apparently, he is a hill billy from Lousiana, but he�s cute and can play. Plus, his name is �the riot.� How cool is that?

A quick cab ride dropped me off at home where I promptly because too tired to move, so eventually just passed out. The Cubs game had gone from bad to worse and did not even seem tempting enough to stay awake for. I must have been really out anyway because the next thing I remember is waking up this morning surrounded by cats and my shoulder in serious pain from being slept on funny.


; 0 comments so far

word of the day: Topeka - you say it without smiling


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!