Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:09 p.m. - 2007-10-22
In which my hips don't lie
Oh so busy this weekend that I barely remember what my apartment looks like. That�s probably a good thing because it is trashed. Someday I will return there for more than just duping off one bag and picking up another and running off to do something only to return home to crash.

Friday night Operation Belly Dance went into effect hardcore. All four of us met at Alli�s house and then ran off to Pick A Cup to scope out the stage and scene. OMG, they forgot about this place back in 1968. The hippie factor was big and sad. There was bad art work on the walls, the owner was wearing a floppy hat and there were pebbles of some description in the water cooler. Maybe they arranged my chakras. We ate dinner there which took forever because everyone else was done by the time I got my portabella sandwich. Then we had to suffer through the drum circle. Yes, a drum circle made up of old Rastas and weird rich white women. Have I mentioned that drum circles annoy me? Oh, yeah, and there were very few scones. Scone Fest my ass. I did not feel there were enough for me to throw one at the owner�s head for the mix up of dates. She would have prob been too high to notice anyway.

Well, after that glory we went back to Alli�s and practiced a few more times with the confidence that the crowd at PaC was not scary, not scary at all. Unless you think they�d steal your stash kind of scary. Let�s just say the intimidation factor was much less.

Saturday morning bloomed bright and sunny. I grabbed my luggage and ran off to start OBD part II, the sequel (actually, it was day 5 for the week of belly dancing.) Anyway, after meeting up with Rapunzel for chai and bagels, the other two swung by and we jumped into the car for the run up to Evanston. A quick stop at Lizzie�s to don the clown pants and get exotic and we were on our way. The funniest part was scaring the Watch Tower out of the Jehovah�s Witnesses coming past the house as we left in full choli, pants, belt and veils covering us. They thought we were a scarier cult than they were. It was beautiful.

Finally, we arrived back at PaC for the show. The butterflies were in full effect but I also felt strangely calm. I think it was because others were wigging and I needed to be calm for them. God Bless Cure Girl #1 for showing up with her man as moral support. She and Poppy ran a 5K that morning, so she came to see us do our thang. She also became my photog as I knew she could make the camera do things it did not even know it could do. The pics are cool, and can be shared for the right price. The performance went well except for a little bobbing one way when we should have been bobbing the other. No one fell off the stage. Props to the older woman who joined us on stage, she was showing us youngsters how it�s done.

After performance #1 we had mega time to kill before we had to be back at Bloom for Birth Ball set up. Poppy and I went back to her house to watch �The Lookout.� Watch out for Joseph Gordon-Leavitt. This kid can act and does it well. Check out this flick and �Brick.� Two of the most underestimated films of the past two years.

I can honestly say that I don�t remember much of the Birth Ball show. By the time I realized it, I was already half way through the dance. I am assuming it was okay. The funnier part was directly a group for Add A Pearl, which is a game where everyone adds a dance move to the ones prior to it and you continue around the circle. Well, I was alone with a group of drunken ladies who wanted to shimmy, shimmy, shimmy. It was pretty amusing.

To end our night, we all gathered across the street at the Rockwell Grill for one last drink to celebrate. Our instructor even sent over flowers. I have never gotten flowers after a performance of anything. It was kind of nice. After all that, I just went home and passed out.

Sunday was even weirder warm. I was actually wearing shorts when I headed out to the �burbs to do laundry and hang out with the folks. You can see where my priorities were. Besides, they let me loose at Target and I spent way too much money. It was all Clearance, I swear!

We also had to visit my step-cousin at the hospital which was nerve racking. I hate hospitals. They make me queasy. Granted, everything makes me queasy. Hell, I�m queasy right now. But I digress. She�s not doing too well, but hopefully she will be settling down soon.

Then we had crazy Baker�s Square dinner. I haven�t been in a Baker�s Square in prob about six or seven years. We happened to get the one waiter who was either: very new, very tired, or very stoned. He could not remember anything. After taking all three orders, he only put in one. My step-mom got her food, but neither my Dad nor I got ours. He could not figure out what dressing I wanted on my salad. It was all very strange and got stranger when the manager stepped in. I swear we did not even ask to see a manager. He pulled up a chair to our table and then brought us coupons for free meals and pie. I was so tired at this point that I was just totally confused. All I know is that stomach has not been happy since. It may have just been the Oreo pie, though.!

!

0 comments so far


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!