Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:29 p.m. - 2007-11-09
In which there is seasickness whilst still docked

Where do I start???

Wednesday I left early to go shopping and dining with Poppy, Weetabix, Mike, and his co-workers. It was a much involved travel plan leaving work in the city for a 45 minute bus ride into downtown for another 45 train ride to the suburbs to a ride in the rantmobile. Let me tell you that Metra is not easy to navigate when the overhead speaker system does not work and it�s completely dark outside. I had no idea where I was until I asked some suburban feather mulleted mom to take me under her wing and make sure I got off at Wheeling.

I did witness one of the most amazing shoe buying spectacles I have ever seen at the Nordstrom in Woodfield. I am on the budget right now until the Vegas trip and Christmas are over, so I could not partake. Weeta and Poppy and Lindsie well made up for my absence. All told they bought 12 pairs of shoes with a total over $1400. The poor salesman nearly cried after they had checked out. Yes, his name was Dicky and I think they made his shoe fetish dreams come true. Plus, I think he wanted to follow Lindsie back to Cincy for Easy Mac and more.

As if that shopping spree was not enough, there was another trip to Nordy�s Rack. I was starting to get Mall Claustrophobia, so I ducked back outside. Weeta and Mike came with me, but Poppy and her amazing shopping stamina live on. I do not know how she does it.

Dinner was moved up to 8:30 at the Wildfire Steakhouse. The food was good, but I am not a steakhouse kinds gal. It was all too rich for my blood. The martini flight was amazing and pretty and tasty, but too sweet. The chicken sandwich was too smooshy or something. The pumpkin pie was too creamy. It was all just too too.

I was not feeling well after all the food, but figured I�d sleep it off and be fine for work on Thursday. I was wrong. I woke up kind of off kilter and it got worse in the shower and then it got worse some more. Bottom line: I did not make it to work yesterday. I felt like I was seasick all damn day. Much sleep and Tums and I am much better, thank you.

Things at work were pretty quiet yesterday, but the fit is hitting the shan again today. I never got a chance to mention that the Red Headed Femme Fatale of L.C. put in notice on Wednesday because she and her fianc� bought a house in Indiana. She is leaving the day before Thanksgiving. That left only two people at L. C.: the Amish receptionist and the Short Stop.

Well, the Amish Receptionist quit by e-mail this morning. She decided that they were giving her too much responsibility and the scheduling was bad. What??? She said she was not even giving two weeks notice, but was never coming back.

And then there was one. I have no idea what they are going to do with that office now. I did say that I would adopt the Short Stop if he needed a home. Much drama.

Word of the day: squee � a noise of delight made when seeing a friend one has not seen in a long time. Thanks to Poppy and Weeta for this one.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!