Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:19 p.m. - 2007-12-06
In which the Weenies of the World unite and take over or Vegas Part 1: The Decompression

I AM BACK, BABY! Viva Las Vegas and all, but I am actually quite happy to back at the LC desk.

Somehow I let my vacation go from calming break from the hectic lifestyle to being the Butan Death March. The Weenie�s father planned every frickin� minute of our time. We saw a lot of stuff, but seriously, the first two nights I was in bed by 10 because I was too tired to move (of course, I couldn�t sleep). The Weenie was being too much of a weenie to say anything strong to her dad about it, so he just kept bossing us around. That is not what I really wanted, so by the end of day two, I kind of flipped out. There were things that I wanted to see and it seemed that no one else was listening to me. I think I may still be too close in time to make a fair assessment of the trip because last night was such a downer.

Our plane was supposed to leave Vegas at 6:15 pm. We had to get to the airport by 4:00 because that�s when the last bus got us there. The lines were taking forever, but we managed to get to our gate by 4:45. At 6:00ish the airline announced that our flight was cancelled and we�d all be shuttled to a different terminal for the next flight which was supposed to be at 6:45. That flight was delayed until 7:30 and filled with cast offs from three other flights. We were Southwest�s reject flight. We finally arrived back in Chicago around 1:00 this morning. The Weenie was so tired this entire time she barely spoke to me and ignored most of my witty comments. Okay, they weren�t witty but I use banter to pass time when I am bored out of my freakin� mind. I really did just want to baby shake her most of yesterday.

I absolutely know that I am not being fair. She and her dad did a lot for me this trip. It just was not what I was expecting. Maybe once I get some sleep my outlook will be much rosier. Highlights will come soon because unfortunately, what happened in Vegas doesn�t need to stay there. Next time I go to Vegas, it will be with someone who can handle my style of vacation: sleep late, spa, do some sightseeing, and then hit a bar.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!