Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:53 p.m. - 2008-02-16
In which Valentine's Day does not suck

It�s a given that everyone either gets into a tizzy over Valentine�s Day or plans to ignore it altogether. For me this year, I was, of course, wondering what it would bring for me. Pretty much every year in the past has seen me at my desk accepting bouquet after bouquet of flowers for my tenants and just knowing none of them would be for me. It always hurts just a little bit. I didn�t figure this year would be much different.

All morning I hid out at the LC. My dad�s birthday is on V-Day, so I had to run over there to get my wrapping paper and pick up a card from the store. It was cool. The Irish Princess, the new leasing agent, and I were trying very hard not to look at our phones. The Short Stop just kept telling me to ignore it. I didn�t have to for long. Torque came through!

He was actually back in Chicago for the day getting ready for his trip to Thailand. We spent the entire day texting back and forth. It was hours and hours of really good conversation and I could not have asked for much more. All of my fears about him leaving for Thailand without a word and never hearing from him again were proven way wrong. He really took the time to make both of us comfortable about our situation and make sure that I knew that even though there is distance between us, I�m in his thoughts. So, yeah, I�m back to being that silly girl that giggles and has a stupid ass grin on my face.

Thursday night I had to run out to the burbs for my dad�s birthday party. Most of the local fam showed up. We had a nice dinner. He liked his gifts. The funniest part was when my uncle showed up. He is part of a barbershop quartet. Yes, there are still barbershop quartets. The entire group showed up at the house just as we were finishing dinner and serenaded the old man. He turned 64, so they sang �When I�m 64� by the Beatles. I think my dad almost cried. It was really sweet.

Friday morning, I received a text from torque letting me know that he was on the plane and about to leave. I got a chance to say �good-bye.� This morning he wrote me to make sure that I knew he got there safely. I love the fact that technology is so good now that we can text between Chicago and Thailand and there is no difference than texting across town. Except for the 11 hour time difference.

Tonight I want to go out. I am waiting from word from The Fourth�



0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!