Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:50 p.m. - 2008-03-31
In which you get two stories for the price as one

Here is a story, actually two stories, one of strife and conflict, one of seemingly good vibrations. I bring these to you on a night when I may not be at my most coherent, but I will try to relay them in sufficient detail.

I begin with the cage match� last night was my meeting with the Troll to finally get the issues that have plagued the belly dancing troupe out in the open, and hopefully resolve them. I admit that I went into the meeting in a less than feisty mood. I had had a rough night as my cat had used my face as something to cling to rather than fall off the couch. However, I must say that going into a fight with previous black eyes does lend an air of toughness that I had not expected to have. Anyway, I digress�

The discussion pretty much went how I expected it to. I laid out my grievances as honestly but fairly as possible. Basically saying that she has a habit of saying that she has a habit of saying unfriendly comments to me and generally creating an atmosphere of negativity. She countered by acting all shocked and having no idea of what I am talking about. She then turned it around on me saying that I talk too much during class and that she is there to be on task and get the job done. Oh, and then spent some time kissing ass by saying how much she respects the �art� and artists are not paid enough. I told her that this is my fun time, and that I leave my �job� at work and want to learn my dances but not in an environment based on �discipline�. Our instructor stepped in and asked us what we are willing to do to make the situation better. I offered to both tell The Troll when I think she is being unfair, and restrict my conversation to outside class or related to class. She really had nothing to add at that point. I find it hard to believe that she could not find anything that she could work on, so she finally agreed to be more aware of what she is saying to others. I�m not sure how it is going to play out in the long run, but at least it is out there.

I think the good news is that our instructor kind of saw through the bullshit and is just hoping we make good on our respective promises. She did even come out to dinner with the girls after class. Plus, she e-mailed me today to see if I thought things were productive. I can�t say if �productive� is the way I�d put it, but at least it is out there.

My second story is the result of the speed dating adventure. I went on my first date with Metro Evanston Guy tonight. I have to come up with a new name for him or I am going to end up abbreviating him as MEG. That just seems wrong. Anyway, I think the date went well. As much as I know about actually having real dates, anyway, it was a success.

We met up at a restaurant/bar in the �hood. Not one of my favorite places, but for a Monday night it was fine. The meat market was not in effect. We sat and drank a few cocktails and talked for a few hours. The most embarrassing thing is that he looked me up in the high school yearbook. Of course, I was a freshman the only year we were at the school at the same time. I can not say that I appreciate being compared to my math club photo. The big hair and glasses have since gone to the wayside.

He does seem to have a real job. He does seem to be interested in what I have to say. He also seems to not be leaving for North Dakota in the next few days, so he�s got that going for him. I think we may have another date tentatively scheduled for Friday night, so we�ll see. I�m not sure exactly where I see this going, but it is nice to be able to have actual dates. It seems to be a step in the right direction.

Oh, and on a completely separate topic, we fired Tony Salami at the office today. Good riddance to bad cured meats, I say.



0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!