Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:13 a.m. - 2008-06-05
In which someone needs to flush and shut the hell up

I got through Move-in Day Horror Part I. Sunday actually was not too bad. The thing is that I have been doing this for so long now (6.5 years!) that there are very few surprises. I have heard all the arguments. I have met bitchy botoxy moms from Michigan. I have seen worst and come out alive.

We had two �situations�, if you will. The first was a guy who pissed off because the freight elevator was broken in the building he was moving in to because someone else had overloaded it. I told him that the service had been called, and would fix it as soon as they could, but in the meantime, he could use the stairs. He actually asked me if he could refuse to move in because he could not sue the elevator. What he was not expecting was when I offered to hand him back the check for his first month�s rent so he could leave. Funny how quickly he changed his story then. He moved in on time. Plus, by the time he had finished arguing, my engineer had reset the elevator and it was working.

The prize winner of the day, though, was a woman transferring from one building in the company to another. She had been an absolute nightmare from the time she had walked into our office. Every day she had called and screamed at another of my staff because she wanted to move on her schedule, not ours. She at one point threatened to have her lawyer call me about her move in time. I told her to have him call me so I could read him the part in the lease about possession, and the fact that the previous tenant still had it until the end of the month. Sorry, management babble.

Anyway, the funny part�We did manage to get her keys very early on the first. The second she moved in she started screaming about how her place was not clean. The Cleaners had been there, but hadn�t made it spotless. Well, we have 24 hours to clean and paint 90 units, it�s not going to be spotless. After three calls wondering when the cleaners were coming back to finish the job, she found the surprise. She called back screaming obscenities at anyone she could get on the phone until I told my door man to hang up on her. Then she came into the lobby of the building and started a scenes in front of all the new move-ins. Apparently, someone had shit in her toilet and never flushed it. After all the screaming, my door man just calmly looked at her and said, �flush it.�

As a treat after the pain of Sunday, we took a Tootsie outing after work on Monday to see the Sex and the City movie. I will wait a while before pontificating on it. There is so much to say, but I understand that not everyone has seen it yet. The spoiler alerts can wait.

Young internet love update: There has been major drama! Not involving me at all, thank god. Saturday morning, the young girl, S, broke up with my boy toy, D. She has finals this week, and she was starting to freak that this was all going too fast for her. Ya think? So, I left to go out for dinner and then to a house warming party at Hamster�s. I love Pineapples! By the time I got back that night, they were still talking. By the time I went to sleep, they had gotten back together. I had to hold both of their hands through the damn thing.

I have been sucked into this world. I am even deeper than I was before. It has spread from the original website to AIM to Myspace. I was once concerned that I was out of the loop. Now I am concerned that I am in too deep. There is this app on Myspace that allows you to buy and sell your friends as gifts and pets. I was totally confused by their conversations about this until I got bought by my boy toy. Since then, I have been purchased by the fulltime mother of two in South Dakota. She has sent me as a gift to many other members of the group.

The make matters even weirder, one of the boys who frequents the group is 16. He has started hanging around me like a lovesick puppy. Um, he�s 16. I can�t imagine what I really have to talk to him about. He�s sweet, but really tried to prove himself by having these verbal pissing contests with every guy I talk to. It puts me in a weird place too because his mother is the group leader of the group that I joined. The last thing I want to do is getting kicked out for either being accused of flirting with her 16 year old son or blowing him off.

Lastly, back to our fave newlyweds. One of the older men in the group posted this vitriolic blog on Myspace about pedophiles and mentioned that every day he sees a 21 year old guy �seducing� a 14 year old girl. Well, this sent the group into a huge tizzy. SD mamma apparently flew off the handle on him with claws out yelling that he had no idea what he was talking about. Boy Toy D was really upset but actually spent some time to calm down and wrote him this long letter telling him that he needed to come to him if he had concerns about his behavior and to not hide behind a blog. He sent me the message. It was actually very well written. Anyway, this whole thing divided the group into factions, and several members ended up leaving. I missed most of this because I was at work when it happened, but the gossip coming out of it has been shocking to say the least. Hopefully, the whole thing will blow over as it all eventually does, but man do these people know how to create drama. I just love sitting back and watching it all happen. It�s better than reality tv.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!