Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08 a.m. - 2007-10-04
In which I introduce myself and my cast of characters
Well, this is the beginning of a new adventure. The blogging has been kept to a minimum in recent years due to lack of proper computer and time. I can not guarantee how long this foray will last, but I am willing to give it a shot.

In the coming entries, I believe that you will mostly find stories here that reflect a bit of every aspect of my life. I tend to be much of an open book. If I think something is relevant, I don�t mind sharing it, with everyone. I do intend to try to change the names of the other people mentioned here to protect the innocent, the guilty, and the moronic.

As with any set of stories, I find it easiest when I know whom I will be following. I shall include a cast of characters who will be seen repeatedly. Look forward to get appearances, though. You never know who will drop by�

The Fam:

Dad � A retired high school history teacher with a goofy streak who now drives rental cars and collects discarded cds when he is not having a bad day on the golf course. He also loves a good trip to Costco for free samples.

The Stepmother � Not as evil as one would suspect, but quite the drama queen. Currently teaching English as a second language to grade schoolers, but getting her nose into everything she can.

The Stepbrother � A kindly slacker with a common story: he has all the potential in the world but is trapped by his own insecurities. He might be an actor someday and has an encyclopedic knowledge of movies he has never seen, but still forgets to brush his teeth.

The Supporting Cast � The stepfamily is wide and varied which is more than I can say for my blood family. Members of each pop up occasionally, but wait for the Holidays for the full �gazamasprucha.�

Work:

The Boss � Hired on the same day as I was almost six years ago, we get along by mutual understanding and respect (cursing like sailors at each other.) He is a bad ass with 3.9 kids trying to reconcile �The Usual Suspects� with �Dora the Explorer.�

Toostie � Leasing agent extraordinaire who makes his job look easy even when suffering from Svedka�s revenge. He is also a master of making balloons look like penises and co-founder of the new religion, Blagopinkism, of which you will hear more soon.

Barbarella aka Barbie Doll aka Babs aka Upstairs Tootsie � One of the most quality people I have ever met that should have dismissed me from the moment she laid eyes on my raggedy little self. Her fabulousness makes one sure that age ain�t nothing but a number, but her kindness makes the woman.

The Supporting Cast � There are oodles of other leasing agents and property managers from the other offices who make great drinking buddies. There are the wacky former Yugo engineers who can dance like Michael Jackson and know how to fix a fire pump and throw a bash on a boat. Finally, there are the tenants who provide endless entertainment, consternation, and higher blood pressure.

Corporate � The evil empire of various faceless people who �run� the real estate company that I work for. Their real job is to throw up obstacles to keep things from running too smoothly and then find ways to pay us less for it.

The Random Friends:

Poppy � The woman can not slow down and has made me a more active and outgoing person because of it. She has introduced me to both the blogger community and belly dancing, but will still go with me to seeing bad horror movies even if I have to talk her through them.

The Weenie aka Frenchie � Formerly of the evil empire, she still has a guest appearance in my office from time to time. Most of the time, we are out in the world hunting for cheap yet sophisticated food and beverage or a cheap yet sophisticated man. And, oh yeah, she thinks she�s French. She�s not, but has had a bizarre world version of my childhood.

Napoleon � Again, formerly of the evil empire, he earned his name by taking over the company one building at a time until he gave it all up to move back to Michigan. He now lives in a horse barn and pines. He is a sensitive soul going through a confused patch, but once he finds his calling, the hunger will return.

J. Lo aka Bad Financial Decision Girl � Introduced to me through the ex-roomie, she has excellent taste in music. Her decision making skills have been called into question on many occasions due to her penchant for ultimatums. She now resides in Ohio near her parents, but could up and move again at the worst time possible.

My Hero � My protector and surrogate older brother has seen me grow from a dopey 21 year old wishing that Chicago were London to a mostly functioning adult. Most times now are spent at a quiet dinner instead of the noisy bar, but he is always looking out for me and has great punk rock stories.

There are more of you out there, and if I have not named you yet, do not worry. Your story has not come up yet, or I have not come up with a good enough nickname for you yet.

Today, the background. Tomorrow, the stories begin�.
word of the day: hate peak - a point where one just can not take it anymore


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!