Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:26 p.m. - 2007-10-08
In which I rant about sports and a bygone era
Monday, right?

So, the weekend garnered much sleep, a fair share of disappointment, and (warning) a rant on the Beatles.

The sleep was much needed after the craziness of the past week. It was really the first chance I have had to just hide in my apartment for a day and unload my poor DVR of its heavy burden. Even rehearsal was cancelled on Saturday for fear that we would practice the wrong moves and thus defeat the purpose of practicing. Instead I did a couple of errands and settled down with the kitties.

Do I dare even mention the Cubs game? At this point I would have rather they lost during the regular season as opposed to getting us all excited for the playoffs. They might as well have not been there. Defeat Chicago can handle, false hope is just cruel. We have the sports equivalent of blue balls.

Sunday was my day to catch up with my �rents and my laundry. I figured that with all the horrible traffic in the city, the best thing to do was to bail for the �burbs. The marathon is always a traffic killer, but at least I did not have to traverse it this year. I was also counting on Cubs traffic. Oops.

So, the big plan was to go see �Across the Universe.� Now, I had heard that it was an amazing movie with transcendent visuals and a focused young cast embodying the music of the Beatles. I should have stopped right there.

Are we not sick of the �60s yet??? I know that it was a time of transition. I know that families were torn apart by the war and the politics surrounding it. I know that is was cool to take acid and watch things in chromokey. I know the Beatles were the music of that generation and laid the ground work for all the music that I love. I know that I know these things and that I have known them since it has been jammed down our throats every single day of my childhood by my idealistic long haired parents.

I give Julie Taymor credit. She had a vision, and she went for it. The only problem is that there was almost nothing in that vision that was unique. Now, my father says that is why all of his peers love the movie. It was a comfortable clich�. It was like visiting an old friend. For me, I was almost laughing out loud by the end.

I did like the cameos, though. Does anyone else realize that Bono is starting to look unsettlingly like Robin Williams? Can Eddie Izzard pass up a role that involves him wearing make-up? Is five Selma Hayeks really enough?

Maybe I am just jaded and bitter, but maybe I am just as nostalgic for a good 80s movie. Or maybe Velvet Goldmine is the Across the Universe about the glam scene as opposed to the Beatles. It�s something to think about.

Oh, yeah, and Green Bay? Suck it. At least one team from Chicago did something worth while this weekend.

Word of the day: the gutter � when food accidentally gets dropped into your own cleavage, it ends up in the gutter.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!