Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:25 p.m. - 2007-10-29
In which chivalry may be dead
A friend of mine was wearing a shirt last week that said, �Boys are stupid and we should throw rocks at them.� I am a believer. I spend so much time around guys that I usually figure I can read them like a cheap novel. Unfortunately, when presented by one that I am actually interested in pursuing perhaps more than a friendly relationship with, I don�t get it at all. I thought it was all one track mind and duh�

I finally get the invite out of nowhere from Wii Boy to go to a Halloween party on Friday night. He makes a big deal of it on Thursday, and because it is right near my house, I can�t say no, right? He even has his sister run by an invite to me on Friday and comes by himself for reinforcement. I mean, three times making sure I am going to show up is pretty much a sign, right? Poppy and I have plans for earlier in the evening, so I make sure he knows that I am not just devoting my night to him, but I will show.

Poppy and I meet up in Lincoln Square for a quick dinner and movie. We saw the �Gone Baby Gone� movie as interpreted by the Affleck brothers. First, yes, we keep calling it �Gone Daddy Gone.� Secondly, it was one of the most strangely paced movies I have seen in a long time. I kept expecting it to end and then it would get all interesting again. In the end, I was left not hating it, but very confused. Wow, that sounds like my whole weekend.

After the movie, we came back to the WP. I ran up to my place to get pretty. I may not have had time to go in full costume, but I wanted fresh make up, fishnets, heels, and glitter. Yes, I was wearing a dress with all that. Perv. Anyway, I called him to find out if it was still cool that we head over. He gave me his number on Thursday. He seemed excited to hear from me when I called, so we ran around the block a few times and then headed up the stairs past the horrible people on the second floor. (They will come into play later.)

At the party there were prob only 10-12 people. One was cute kilt guy. One was obnoxious chiropractor guy who kept hitting on me all night. The others were the Wii Sister�s friends. Wii Boy did not seem to have friends of his own there. At first I thought that would be a good thing because he was pretty attentive, but he kept introducing me as �the landlord.� Ick.

Poppy left after one beer and I almost left with her due to lack of interesting conversation. I wanted to wait it out to see if things would change after maybe being alone or a few more beers, etc. Instead of it getting more intimate, we got invaded by the second floor party. They were being charged a cover and per drink, so they decided to come upstairs where the bathroom was free and so was the beer if they stole it. Oh yeah, and they were doing coke off the back desk.

Wii Boy and I just stood guard in front of one of the bedrooms and had very stilted conversation. I even tried to perk him up by telling him about my belly dancing, and he just took it in stride. He was much more interested in taking care of the apartment we were in, even though the hosts kept sneaking out to the second floor party.

The cops finally showed up to kick out all the kids. That was a blessing, though I kind of felt like I was back at work. Once the sitch seemed under control, I figured it was time to leave. He gave me a hug and said how glad he was that I showed. Also, he made his sister hug me. Then I walked out on my own and walked home alone at 1 am. Even creepy chiropractor offered to make sure I got home okay.

So after that debacle, I was really disappointed, to say the least. This whole situation could have changed a few key elements and the party could have been in high school or college or now. The essential frustration of it is really a constant that has followed me throughout my life. I still can not figure out why a guy would seem very interested to get my somewhere and then not do anything about it when I was there. Do I smell funny?

Anyway, Saturday I called for a girl meeting. I was supposed to go see a movie with the Weenie and the fourth musketeer from belly dancing. Instead of seeing the movie, I wanted to go straight to dinner and drinks. Let�s just say that the Mexican did not sit well with me. The bitching was fine, but promise me that I will never drink tequila again!

Oh, shout out to my favorite bar owner who we did have to visit after dinner. It�s always a pleasure and you had better get out for dinner sometime this week or next.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!