Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 p.m. - 2007-11-07
In which I make old ladies cry

This is the situation I find myself in: The Short Stop just called me. He�s bored, so he�s asking �whatcha doing?�

I had to respond, �making old ladies cry.�

He said I am mean. I told him, �it�s okay because they are little and old, and I can take them.�

Seriously, this particular woman is in her mid-80s and has lived in our buildings for several decades. These are vintage buildings built back in the 20s and have always had radiator heat. What I don�t understand is how the heat becomes a fight every day, every year!

She calls every night screaming obscenities at us because she is cold. She swears that she is wearing two robes and has her space heater on, but it is like hell on earth in her apartment and that we are the anti-Christ.

The heat is working just fine right now. We went up to her apartment and found out that one of her windows was open about an inch. On a night like last night, that can be significant. Anyway, I told her that we fixed that problem, and she started crying about not knowing what was coming tonight, and not having a life, and how can windows open on their own. I explained that gravity happens and I can not have a problem fixed unless she tells me about it. I prefer that happen in a civilized manner but I can�t always dictate.

So she finally said thank you for helping her, and she knows that I am just the messenger. She wants to make sure that I know that she is not like her daughter who screams at people for no reason. I told her that it is all okay now, and she can go upstairs and relax.

She decided to go out for a walk in her full length mink coat.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!