Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:44 p.m. - 2007-12-27
In which dim sum and the spirit of human kindness overflow

I must apologize for being neglectful. The past month has been a whirlwind of Nutcracker madness, family togetherness and work confusion. Again, I shall give you the bullet points to catch up on the details:

� The company Christmas party went down on the 13th. I got my plaque for 5 years of service even though I have been there nearly 6 years. The owner presented me with a plaque and made a joke about my height. I won tickets to the rooftops again for the next Cubs season. I went to the after party with Barbie and The Short Stop and watched all the corporate girls and owner boys do shots. I had to work the next day so I was good. Mostly.
� The Nutcracker rehearsals nearly destroyed my will to live. I got sick two days before the show, the day after the party coincidentally, and got through on a haze of Benedryl and Hall�s Cherry cough drops. I think everything went as planned except for the girl who played the Nutcracker dancing herself right off the stage. She jumped right back on stage to finish like a real trooper. She is one of those girls who will use this memory as one of crowning achievements later in life, so at least she made the most of it.
� Christmas shopping came and went. I do my shopping mostly online as I dislike shopping with hordes of people. I know what I want and get in and out quickly. I did have to brave a few stores but there was no lasting damage to my psyche.
� My ethnic Birthday meal of choice this year was dim sum. The day was horrible with -7 degree wind chills, but the food was yummy. We went to Chinatown and I chose a restaurant that got decent reviews online. We did not know exactly what to order, so we just marked down a bunch of stuff on the list and went to town. So much food, so good, so sleepy afterward. That�s the way a Sunday brunch should be.
� I had to work on Christmas Eve. The scary thing was that I was the person on duty with the most authority that day. Of course, that is when all hell breaks loose. One of my buildings had three pipes that froze and broke sending a torrent of water down through the three apartments below it. I had to field calls from the owners, construction, and my boss and then had to actually go to the building to assess the damage. It was ugly. There was snow and ice in the building. It had basically rained water into the other apartments but fortunately, it looks like it kept mainly to the closets and bathroom. Dry cleaning bills will be coming in, but there was no major damage.
� Christmas finally arrived to the family descending upon the suburbs. We had 17 people for brunch at my folks� house and then dinner at my aunt and uncle�s place. I love them all but that�s a lot of very loud people in one place. I was very happy that night to go home and pass out from all the comfort and joy.

Now it�s back to the daily grind of bouncing back and forth between the two offices. I don�t think we get to close down LC for another month. In the meantime, the tenants get to try and track me down between all of my phone numbers.

Oh well, the year�s almost over, right? Not that 2007 has been bad. I�m really not complaining, too much. Now I just have to figure out how to ring in 2008.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!