Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:38 p.m. - 2008-01-14
In which I am try to not become that girl

My schedule is waaay messed up. I totally love having this time off from work, but I am reverting back to bad habits. For some reason, when left to my own defenses, I become nocturnal. I go to sleep later every night. I wake up even later. I am not accomplishing much of anything that I planned to do. I am actually looking forward to going back to work tomorrow. At least I will be back to being productive.

I did go out a lot this weekend. Friday night I met up with the workies for drinks at the skank water bar. This was my first experience with the new non-smoking policies. It wasn�t too bad. I definitely smoked less and felt better because of it. We had fun and bitched about the latest developments in the evil empire. Apparently, one of our accounts finally cut and run after years of service. She just couldn�t take it anymore. Of course, that means more work for all of us. Figures. We did have interviews for my assistant again last week. They better hire someone soon or we might all pull a Gina soon.

Saturday night was another night with the belly dancing cult aka the hafla. It wasn�t too bad. We went and watched our instructors do a few numbers, participated in a game and had some good cheap chai. The wacked out hippie who runs the joint did not get in the way, so I wasn�t too creeped out by the nasty coffee house this time. Besides once the kids got all rowdy we had a chance to sneak out for pizza. The four musketeers ran off to Pizza Art for some spinachi and wine. I came home nice and toasty.

Last night I had tix to see David Sedaris do a reading at Steppanwolf theater. I love sardonic and witty gay men. I brought Poppy, her husband and Tootsie from work. I laughed my tush off. He was trying out new material for his new book. It was mostly about quitting smoking. It was hilarious but it made me both want to quit smoking and have a smoke right there in the theater.

Instead, we went to dinner at Vinci down the street. Toostie�s boy toy met up with us for dinner. They got drunk and got very animated. I was hoping that their joyfulness would not upset Poppy�s Steve. He handled it very well, and they were adorable.

Lastly, a note about Torque. I have not heard from him since Friday morning. I�m sure that this is totally normal, but it�s making me a bit nuts. I really do need to get back to work and get my mind back onto my own life. I refuse to become one of those girls who stares at her phone willing it to ring. God, I sound like frickin� Bridget Jones. Two units alcohol, three cigarettes, no new messages�someone slap me.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!