Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:27 p.m. - 2008-02-10
In which it all gets paid forward

I admit it. I kind of took this week off from just about everything. I used up the last of my vacation days by taking Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday off from work. I skipped class and a nice dinner on Wednesday because of the weather. By Friday, I had actually come back to work with a new sense of purpose, a clean view of my coffee table, and some rest.

I also had a quick lesson in Karma on Friday. I took money out of the ATM on Friday morning only to discover that I am broke. So, staying in and missing the fun on Wednesday actually turned out to have been a good decision after all. I have enough money to get me through to Monday which is payday, but it hurts to realize that the coffers are much more bare than I had imagined. I also got a call from My Chauffer saying that he could not give me a ride home because his girlfriend is making him go to some dinner out in the burbs with her sister in law. I am also in the process of trying to lay off the text messages to Torque because as of next week he will be on to his grand odyssey of eastern travel. I don�t want to be disappointed when I don�t get any Valentines again, and don�t hear from him for weeks, if ever.

Granted, the universe works in mysterious ways. Acceptance of this fact is really the only way to get through certain things without throwing a hissy fit. To this end, I provide the following examples. Before I left work on Friday I decided I would work late to make up for some of the times I had left early because I had a ride. Just as I was packing up, The Short stop called and said he needed me to make some key cards for a girl who got locked out of one of our buildings. He was going to run them over to her, so he needed to stop by and pick them up since I have the card machines in my office. The building in question is one of our southern most beings and is half way to my house, so I asked him if he could give me a ride home after we dropped off the keys. He�s a good guy, so of course he said yes. One problem solved.

I got home and checked my mail. In my mailbox was a card from my mother thanking me for something I had agreed to do for her. In the card was a check for a very substantial amount of money. Of course, it still won�t hit my bank account until after I get paid on Monday, but it really bails me out for any further questions of money for a while. Second problem solved.

Finally, this afternoon, I received a very simple and kind of cheesy text message from Torque. It was a forwarded text featured the �Valetine�s Day rose�. Hell, it�s more than I expected, so I am not complaining. Besides, it�s sweet that he thought of me at all.

Plus, just to help right all the Karma that has been going around lately, I spent most of yesterday afternoon helping my dad break up the two to three inches of ice that has covered his driveway. I never realized how long their damn driveway was until it took us three hours to clean it. Though, it was the least I could do to pay back his help with everything and the three loads of laundry he was letting me do in his basement.

Two last thoughts:

�A Knight�s Tale� is on right now. The movie may be sappy and the use of a 70s soundtrack on Chaucer may disturb many people, but in light of Heath Ledger�s recent death, it�s making me sad and smile all at the same time.

Lastly, May thoughts also go out to one of my favorite places in the entire world today. I can�t believe Camden market burnt down. I can only hope that the rebuilding will be swift and complete because a world without it is a bleaker world indeed. Two warm 22 ounce salutes of NewCastle brown ale go out to the Good Mixer and the Dublin Castle, two of my favorite drinking holes anywhere.


1 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!