Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:15 p.m. - 2008-02-12
In which My Tenants Prove Their Worth

It�s like bonus day. I have two drunken whore stories for you�

First off we have the male drunken whore of the week. One of my dear tenants was wheeled out of the building on Saturday by the paramedics. Apparently, his drunken whore girlfriend was seen stumbling out of the building just minutes before the paramedics showed up. They went up to his apartment with our doorman and found him collapsed on the floor. It was judged a heroin overdose. He has not been seen since. His family called today to do a well being check on him, and we had to tell them that he had been taken to the hospital. They let us know later that he is still there. The weird thing is that this guy was known to be a drinker. I�ve even run into him out at the skank water bar before, but I never pegged him a smack head.

Second story goes to the ladies. As anyone in Chicago right now will tell you, this has been the most brutal winter on record for a long, long time. The sub-zero temps have been kicking all of our asses. As such as good landlords we always post notes reminding the tenants to make sure that their heaters are open and their windows are closed.

Well, one of our brain trust decided to take off to Florida for the weekend and leave both her living room and bathroom windows open. As such things happen, the pipes froze in the wall between these two rooms. It destroyed four apartments below hers. Of course, she has no renter�s insurance and now she is liable for all the damage to each of these other apartments. Not to mention the fact that I had to call all these people and tell them that their ceilings had fallen in. Plus, I had to find places for them to live while their apartments are being fixed. This girl even tried to blame us for keeping the apartment too hot. God, we can�t win.

But on the good side, I did get to write a non-renewal letter today for the tool over at one of my other buildings who tried to get the gas shut off to the entire building because we would not let him take a month and a half rent credit because we destroyed his �designer� mini-blinds. The blinds were from Home Depot and cost $48.67. They must have been spectacular.



0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!