Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:37 p.m. - 2008-04-29
In which my prince turns back into a frog

Well, my loyal friends, I have a story to tell. There is a prince involved, but this is not your Disney fairytale with the happier ever after. This is more of a Grimm fairytale where the prince turns out to be the frog after all. Really, tell me you did not see this coming.

Tonight was the heralded third date with Prince, and as I almost never get to the third date, I was hopeful. We were going to one of my favorite restaurants. He had made sure that the third date was a must. He seemed to really like me. I thought that this was going to be the beginning of something really good.

We met at the restaurant. Conversation was going well. We had similar tastes, and shared each other�s food. He offered to pay again. Then outside, he asked if I wanted to catch a drink before calling it a night. I thought that he just did not want to see me go.

So, we go to a bar, he buys the drinks. We sit down, and he asks me what I think of him. Now, I find this to be a tricky question. Do I gush? Do I play it coy? I, being me, go for honesty above all else. I told him that I find him sweet, and kind, which I really appreciate. I told him that he makes me laugh which is really a plus. I did not want to start telling him that I was glad to finally find someone that made me feel both well taken care of and sexy, but I never had the chance anyway.

He looks me in the eye, and tells me that he has been seeing someone else that he met at about the same time as me. He really likes me, and thinks I am incredibly hot, but he thinks he is more compatible with this other girl. He wanted to ask me how I felt about him before he made his decision.

I can tell you that I was taken completely aback. He never once told me that there was even the possibility of another woman in the picture. He never even told me that he was casually dating. I was blindsided.

Then, then! He gives me the I really like you and I really hope that we con continue to be friends speech, and says that he really means it and doesn�t want it to sound like a speech. Oh, and that maybe he should have told me before dinner.

I told him that before or after dinner would have made no difference. It still hurt. I said that I was not sure that I would like to be friends with him. That honestly, I was going to be pretty saucy about this for a while.

He kept saying that he was sorry, so sorry.

First, I told him that this was fine because there was someone else that I had been putting off because of a work situation. I�m sure you can guess who that is. Then, I finished my beer. I told him that I hope he was very happy with this other woman, and I was leaving because I did not want to say something that I would regret later. And I walked out and hailed a cab.


That was probably the last time I will see him, unless he is back at my Skank Water bar on a Friday night. If he is, he had better watch out because that is when I have my work posse with me in full effect.

I know that this was for the best. I know that he doesn�t deserve me anyway. Blah Blah Blah. I reserve the right to be pissy and bitchy for awhile. Hell, I made my receptionist cry this morning before any of this happened. She had better fucking watch out tomorrow. I will tell this story at another time because it is a good one.

So, that�s it. My Sweet Prince has turned back into the frog that he is. The buffet line has proven that once again, I get the chipped beef because the men have more options. And people wonder why I have trust issues? Why the hell shouldn�t I?


2 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!