Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:59 p.m. - 2008-04-30
In which I have a pity party for one

Yesterday, I told you a tale of woe. Today, I shall continue my sad journey. Remain optimistic that the future holds brighter things, but after the tale I shall tell, you shall see how hard it has been.

As you all know, my personal life has been tumultuous. The good news on that front is that my friends have been as supportive as ever. My tale of the frog has garnered me much praise for the way I handled it. The most apropos response was from Short Stop, of course. I told him first this morning. He told me that it was for the best and made me hand over my celly. He ceremonially deleted Frog�s number from my contacts. No one else could have done it better.

I can say now that as every summer approaches I get crazy at the end and beginning of every month. It is the nature of my job, and I expect it. Well, it is officially nutbag season.

I made mention yesterday to the fact that I made my receptionist cry. It was not intentionally meant for that purpose, but I feel now that I was warranted. She is at least a drama queen, but mostly an attention whore. She will look for a reaction from people be it good or bad, just to make sure that they remember that she is still in the room. This drives me batty, as most of the time, I just want to do my job and don�t have time to listen to her ask me stupid questions just to her someone speak to her.

As I walked in the door yesterday, my coat and bag were still on, I had had no caffeine, and no make up had yet been applied, she yells at me across the lobby if I had done a piece of work. Now, this is not something that she necessarily needed right that second. The contractor who wanted this list knows that every month I will get it to him when I am ready to get it to him, and I will call him when it is ready. She however, felt it was lax of me not to have it ready for him when he asked for it. I responded, quite abruptly, that no the list was not ready, and that if it had been I would have given it to her, but I had not yet received the information yet from my boss, the contractor can wait. Then I walked into my office.

Apparently, this was the meanest thing I had ever said to anyone because she burst into tears and went crying to my boss who came into my office and gave me a lecture in employee relations. Fuck me, you should hear how he has spoken to me for the last six years, and I take it. I take issue with the fact that she was trying to tell me how to do my job, and I am technically her boss. I don�t think I deserve a lecture for that, and I told him so. He finally said that he would go talk to her about it.

When I finally went back into that office, she gave me a big hug, and said �you know I love you, right?� I said, �yeah, but what�s wrong?� She replied, �girly issues.� Hell, if you haven�t noticed, I am PMSing to high hell right now too, but I manage my business. Not appropriate!

Beyond her, I have a few tenants driving me to drink as well. I have one woman who refuses to move out of an apartment even though her lease was up several months ago. She will not sign a renewal lease and she has not paid rent. We served her with papers, so we can take her court and have her evicted, but it takes forever. In the meantime, she has now started calling us and making no sense, but is severely belligerent. Yesterday, she called and said that had the city out to inspect the building and there were no fire extinguishers. She had stolen all of them! Then she asked how she was supposed to be able to move out of an apartment that was uninhabitable because of the mold problem. Really, how does one move out of an uninhabitable apartment? Then today, she called me to tell me that we had cut her internet access and that it no longer works anywhere. I told her that she needs to call �tech support�. She asked me what that was, and I told her they were the people who fix computers. She then said �shut the fuck up, you ugly bitch� and hung up on me.

Then, that special someone from my corporate office, you know the one�.smooooth, like a Ken Doll, decided today was a good day to mess with me. He sent me over an e-mail requesting a list of my vacant apartments. I spent a good portion of the day making sure the list was accurate, and made it into a pretty little spread sheet, and sent it over. Ten minutes later I get an e-mail back from him to all of my leasing agents with my spread sheet slightly alerted with his name all over it. I am so glad I had CCed my boss on the original e-mail. At least he knows who is really doing the work.

I knew I was in no shape to deal with real people tonight. Before I left work, I made sure to pick up some essentials for the house such as Diet Coke and cookies. I sent an e-mail to my dance troupe telling them that I was not going to be attending class tonight. I mean can you picture me in a room full of zils in this state? I fully intend to sit here and watch bad television and eating cookies until I pass out.

Wanna know the kicker? I don�t know when I will able to post this because as of right now, my fucking cable is out and so is my internet. Maybe I will just sit here in the dark.


1 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!